April 20: Hydrogen Internal Combustion Engine 

20 Apr 2021
1-3pm Paris (CEST) | 7-9am New York City (EDT) | 7-9pm Beijing (CST)

April 20: Hydrogen Internal Combustion Engine 

Time: 1-3pm Paris (CEST) | 7-9am New York City (EDT) | 7-9pm Beijing (CST)

A hydrogen infrastructure, which is expected to be in place by 2030, is reviving the debate on the most appropriate use of hydrogen. One advantage of fuel cells is their high degree of efficiency at low loads. However, at some higher loads, efficiency decreases compared to a hydrogen ICE, which has less efficiency at low loads, but more efficiency as the load increases. In other words, efficiency benefits vary and are dependent on the load.

This session will show how a hydrogen ICE is a robust, cost-efficient option for zero CO2 mobility applications that can be quickly implemented with the  current production infrastructure. Additionally retrofitting existing Diesel engines for the use of hydrogen offers great opportunities for short term CO2 reductions, especially for applications with a long lifespan (e.g. marine).

SESSION LEAD: Dieter van der Put

12:50 – Login Phase

13:00 – Welcome

13:05 – Combustion System Layout from PC to Two-Stroke Engines for H2 ICE

Speaker: Lukas Virnich, Product Manager, Commercial Powertrains, FEV Europe GmbH

13:30 – Simulation Methodologies to Support H2 ICE Development

Speaker: Avnish Dhongde, Project Engineer, Diesel Powertrains at FEV Europe GmbH

13:55 – Exhaust Aftertreatment Systems Design for H2 ICE

Speaker: Verena Huth, Project Engineer, Diesel Powertrains at FEV Europe GmbH

14:20 – Material and Lubrication Interaction for H2 ICE

Speaker: Christoph Biwer, Team leader, Diesel Powertrains at FEV Europe GmbH

14:45 – Summary and Conclusions

To receive a login link and further information, please register online.

Register now